Any Rugby Fans?

I’ve been well into rugby since I went to Northgate Grammar School For Boys in Ipswich, mid '70’s. It was their main sport, and football was just something to fill in the time during the off-season.

Anyway, as the next rugby world cup is this year, the usual autumn internationals have been dropped and instead a number of summer games have been scheduled instead. Can’t wait - a great taster to get us in the mood for the world cup - some tasty looking fixtures here:

I started playing about the same time when I was eight for Kokohuia Primary School (New Zealand). And continued for the South Brisbane Magpies after we moved to Australia when I was 12 until I was 15.

Still a die hard All Blacks supporter so no prizes for guessing what Jersy I will be wearing while I watch the World Cup games :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Played a bit in college, but practice was right after lacrosse practice and I couldn’t handle 4+ hours a night and still get any coursework done.

1 Like

The All Blacks is a team I was always happy to watch down the years. I only used to watch my home team to start with, but after seeing them playing a couple of times I kept watching their games. Now I often watch other teams playing - I think it was the 2003 world cup that opened me up to watching most games (only internationals, though, I’m not as interested in the league games) and I think I’ve watched every game in that world cup multiple times since - I have it on VHS and converted to DVD.

I really like specifically watching the Pacific Islands teams playing and enjoy watching some of the lower order teams coming up through the ranks over the years - like Italy and Georgia.

1 Like

I was in Brisbane on an unplanned visit for a few days in 2003 when the World Cup was on. The only game I managed to get a ticket to was Fiji Vs US.

It was a cracker of match.

1 Like

Australia not doing too well, eh.

So much more enjoyable than Football, though!

2 Likes