How does this happen?

This is what happen if I was an airline pilot i am sure :slight_smile:

We had a crew fly to Jacksonville FL (JAX) instead of Jacksonville NC (OAJ) once many years ago. It was after that that the change was made in dispatch to always page out trips with the three or four letter identifier instead of the city name.

Gross navigation errors (like that Air Asia one) are embarrassing. Each FMS/FMC/MCDU has different quirks - for ours, the FMS uses GPS/GPS, WAAS, DME DME to constantly give the current Lat/Long even if you input the wrong coordinates during the initialization stage. Worst case scenario, you could turn it off, wait a few minutes, turn it back on and it’d find itself.

1 Like

When manually entering the coordinates of the plane’s position, the
pilot incorrectly entered the longitude from a sign outside the cockpit
window as 01519.8 east (15 degrees 19.8 minutes east) instead of 15109.8
east (151 degrees 9.8 minutes east), the report said.

I’m sure this happens quite a bit. Humans being humans and all that. What happened next is chilling, though:

Several message alerts and sounds suggested the error before takeoff, but the crew ignored them, according to the report.

Once the captain and the first officer realized the mistake, they tried to fix the system. But it was too late.

“Attempts to troubleshoot and rectify the problem resulted in further degradation of the navigation system, as well as to the aircraft’s flight guidance and flight control system,” the report said.

As systems failed further, the crew asked to return to Sydney and conduct a landing without the use of navigation systems. However, weather conditions in Sydney forced the plane to land
in Melbourne instead.

Not only did they screw it up, but 1) they took too long to figure out it was broken and 2) trying to fix it made the situation worse. This is how disasters snowball. AirAsia’s training program is probably getting some close scrutiny right about now.

2 Likes