If you weren't an X - what do you think you'd be doing?

So @TheAlmightySnark made me think of this question in another thread:

If you weren’t doing what you are currently doing for a living - what do you think you might be doing?

So I’m a pilot in real life…a career choice that I’m so grateful to have been given the opportunity to pursue…and I love it. But I often wonder what I would have done if I hadn’t chosen this path. I’m pretty sure (but am not positive) that I might have landed in the ship driving business…whether ferry boats or freighters or some other capacity. Ships and seamanship share a lot of commonalities with aviation, so it isn’t a very big stretch. And I love the water and oceans and all types of waterborne activities (I windsurf, sail, kayak, snorkel, etc…).

So what do you think you would be doing or pursuing if you weren’t doing what you are doing now? (Not necessarily what you WISH you were doing…)

BeachAV8R

1 Like

Silly as it may appear- I’ve discovered I love to teach.
:slight_smile:
I’d like to be an IT high school teacher. The Lab guy.

I might actually have been a consultant making twice what I do now for the same type of work. Lawlz.

1 Like

Hmmm, that’s a fascinating question. When I started back to school after I got out of the Navy, I had several professors try their hardest to convince me to major in Chemistry instead of Engineering. If I’d have done that, I’d still be on the west coast, and most likely still in school for a Master’s/ Doctorate in Marine or Geo Chemistry. As it is now, I really, really miss being next to the ocean every day.

2 Likes

I’d be pursuing a degree in math or physics, I love that so damn much. I also considered being a forensic pathologist, unfortunately you have to become a living people’s doctor first which sounds very unattractive.

2 Likes

I too - would have been | should have been | could have been
a history teacher.

1 Like