PC Upgrade 2020

I’ve been upgrading and maintaining an i7 920 for almost ten years! I decided that, after chasing the FPS dragon in DCS and IL-2 (among other games), it’s finally time to upgrade.

Upgrade specs are as follows:

• Intel Core i5-9600K (w/ Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo CPU Cooler)

• Asus ROG Strix Z390-E Gaming Motherboard

• G.SKILL 32GB (2 x 16GB) Ripjaws V Series DDR4 PC4-25600 3200 (CL16 16-18-18-38)

• Samsung 970 EVO Plus SSD 250GB M.2 NVMe

Amazon LGA 1151 List

And, so it begins…

Please, SMASH that like button, and SUBSCRIBE to my unboxing YouTube channel! (not really)

Hey look, it’s Nakatomi Plaza!

Out with the old, and in with the new. I’m not gonna lie, this was quite emotional.

“And I thought they smelled bad on the the outside!”

This is where one thing leads to another, and I spend WAY too much time cleaning under the desk!

This is my collection of (internal) upgrades that will carry over to the new system.

IT’S . . . ALIVE!

And, my least favorite part of any upgrade…

Final inspection. Everything looks good.

Everything is as it should be. And MUCH, MUCH cleaner!

Final (internal) specs are as follows:

• Intel Core i5-9600K (w/ Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo CPU Cooler)

• Asus ROG Strix Z390-E Gaming Motherboard

• G.SKILL 32GB (2 x 16GB) Ripjaws V Series DDR4 PC4-25600 3200 (CL16 16-18-18-38)

• Samsung 970 EVO Plus SSD 250GB M.2 NVMe

• Samsung 860 EVO SSD 1TB

• Gigabyte Radeon RX 580 (8GB)

• Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5

• Intel SSD 530 240GB

• Intel SSD 730 240GB

• WD Caviar Black 1TB

• CORSAIR TX850M Power Supply

What you don’t see, is that this was an almost two week work in progress! Free time is limited, and I spent way more time cleaning and working on the cable management under the desk. It was worth it, but I’m glad it’s (mostly) over. A few more upgrades are in the near future, but that’s a story for another time…

20 Likes