Textures manipulation

This first post is quick guide to PNG files manipulation using GIMP.
Feel free to post any other guides to different file formats or techniques.

I didnt check other sims but XP uses (also) PNG file format for texture files. I am not an expert, so this is how I did it for one particular aircraft.

Before

After

To locate texture file navigate to aircraft folder
…\XP11\Aircraft\Extra Aircraft\DF AS350B3 Plus XP10\liveries\Transport.1\objects

It is always wise to make a copy of this folder or the particular texture file just in case.

In my case it is texture file called MainStage.png
Open particular texture with GIMP eg Right Mouse click -> Open With -> GIMP (if you are asked to Convert/Keep something I use Keep).

Then go to MS forums, banner, Right Mouse click -> Save image as
and save it somewhere where you can later locate it :slight_smile: It is again PNG file.

Locate saved MS banner PNG file, Right Mouse click -> Open With -> GIMP
Now you have two GIMP windows opened or one window with two tabs.

On the texture file tab go to menu Tools -> Selection Tools -> Rectangle Select
Select part of the picture which is close to the section which you want to mask and select it, then Ctrl+C and Ctrl+V.

Then drag and drop it over the reg no. Do it again and again (if needed) until the whole reg no is masked.

If there are rough edges after the paste use e.g. Tools -> Paint Tools -> Smudge
Change the ‘Size’ of the tool (in my case tool menu on left hand side, Size 20) and do the smudging. Green rectangle shows already smudged area. Proceed with all the edges.

In case there are more tones of red colour (lighter and darker), as is the case for the left side of the engine cowling, just use smaller area of the same tone, copy-paste to mask, and do the smudging as appropriate.

Smudge size - bigger means you will finish it quicker, smaller means you can smudge in tighter spaces not blurring other parts.