What is the best flight simulator.

I’m kind of new to flight sim and thaught that Prepar3d was the most accurate. But it has not good planes without add-on compared to Xplane 11. And it also look much less user friendly. So what would you recommand ? Is there any good free add-on for Prepar or should I take Xplane even if it’s a little less life like ?

Hi and welcome to Mudspike!
Which flightsim that is ”the best” is very subjective.
X-Plane is a very realistic simulator with a growing fan base. There are also a lot of good add ons for it.
If you want a slightly lighter, but still good, flightsim, Aerofly FS2 may be worth looking at.

Hi, welcome!

“The best” is not something we can help you with.
Which apsects of a flight sim do you find most important? Is the fluid feeling of the flight model, the graphics, the availability of paid or free add-ons? Planes, helicopters, airport scenery, terrain scenery?

It sounds like you want a simulator with good free add-ons. X-Plane has some amazing freeware planesover at X-Plane.org (Zibo 737, Let L-410, Aerobask Lisa Akoya, Robin, etc.) And many more freeware planes of lesser quality.

There are also many airport sceneries for X-Plane, as well as free orthophotos (high res satellite imagery and height data) for amazing terrain. I am on mobile now, hope someone else can help you find the links.

DCS is a combat flight sim. It is generally considered to have the best flight (especially helicopters!) and systems models, but almost no free add-ons. The base sim is free with 2 planes, other planes cost extra. Also, there is a limited number of theatres, of which only 1 is free. They are of very high quality though, but this means you cannot fly all over the world.

I know less about the other popular flight sims, except that P3D and FSX are generally used with many paid add-ons.
Aerofly FS2 is very beautiful and very good on framerate, especially in VR.

1 Like

X-Plane!