Can someone help me install a TARGET profile in DCS...please?

I am facing multiple learning curves as I reinstall DCS after three years away. I have no experience with the Thrustmaster Warthog TARGET software. One of the most teeth-grinding challenges is attempting to activate a user-made Thrustmaster Warthog profile for the L-39 Albatros in DCS. It’s a very well-made profile but I just cannot figure out how to get it going. If someone could explain this to me as though to a very smart ten year-old I would be very grateful.

Here’s the deal. The instructions go as follows:

Install :

1. Unzip file content where you want on your PC.
  2. Open Target.
  3. Run the “Combined XXXXXX.tmc” with “Run configuration” Button.
  4. Open DCS.
  5. Load the 3 .diff files provided in the correct category (see file name).
  6. Enjoy !

Warning ! : Works only if you load the 3 DCS command profiles provided, in the proper categories (Keyboard/Thrustmaster Virtual Device/Thrustmaster Virtual Device Axis), and set the TrackIR/Teamspeack keybinds as specified in the layout image provided.

The italicized text is what I simply cannot wrap my brain around. Where are these “categories” to be found? The names of the files I am supposed to load in the correct categories are

LOAD IN DCS CATEGORY AXIS THRUSTMASTER VIRTUAL GAME CONTROLLER.dff
LOAD IN DCS CATEGORY KEYBOARD.dff
LOAD IN DCS CATEGORY THRUSTMASTER VIRTUAL GAME CONTROLLER.dff

But how do I load them? In DCS, it appears, but how? I am familiar with the columns is the DCS controls setup page but what do I do once I get the combined device column after running the configuration file in TARGET?

Please help, I am about to tear what’s left of my hair out. Many thanks.

1 Like