DCS AAR, F-16 vs Mig-29A, 2-Circle, 2 IR missiles

Hey gang - I’m restarting my thread of short videos highlighting my own (mis)adventures with dogfighting in the F-16. It’s a 1v1 with 2 IR missiles, and 80% fuel.

I’ll attach the mission .miz with this thread.

I’m going to try to do 100 Missions of the same thing, over and over again, with my own commentary, to see if I can become more adept at this energy management and turn-rate/nose authority game.

I have ZERO experience as a fighter pilot, and my last time as PIC was in a sailplane in 1990 in Chester, SC. I have to thank @Sryan for his incredible patience and tutelage as he has helped me out all these years.

Anyway, I’ll try to make a video a day, maybe two, now that I’m back to self-employment.

Thanks. Comments and criticisms are always welcome.

Whareagle F-16 vs Mig-29A AI 2 IR Missiles 2-Circle Mid-Altitude 2020-12-11

Mig29 1V1 Face on.miz (6.7 KB)

6 Likes

Cool, thanks. Brave of you too! :muscle:

Going to surround this comment with:

**** I’m NOT AN EXPERT****

• I thought is was guns-only at first, then the MIG loosed a heater at you after Turn 1.
    My thought on this: Your speed with a 2-Circle start gave him room to shoot you in the face. Rear-aspect (guns or old AIM-9’s) is they say (whoever ‘they’ are) where the Viper is best. Just what I hear a lot of.

• I just got the impression you were giving him too much room; seemed like you would drive right at him when you might have had the energy to move more to the ‘elbow’ - smidge too much pure/lead pursuit, maybe a touch more lag pursuit, especially when he’s lower on energy. Hard to see what the speeds were (couldn’t read the text very well on my end).

• Yeah, losing sight sux. I only do VR which seems to help me stay oriented more yet is harder when I’ve ‘trapped’ him at my deep-six (my neck don’t bend so well anymore). My usual tactic (though I’m not sure it matters with AI) is to get into the weeds; makes it easier to spot him at least.