DCS and aircraft (object) visibility

I’ve been working on BVR and WVR in the Eagle using Sryan’s excellent primer. Although I’ve got lots of WWII air combat sim experience, jets with missiles are a whole new deal for me. Learning the systems is one thing, but the adjusting to the speed and distances is quite another.

One challenge that I’ve discovered is picking up a/c visually during WVR engagements. Initially, I was ready to write it off to declining eyesight with old age and relegate myself to moving mud or flying a trash hauler. However, while reviewing Bunyap’s Red Flag F-15C 16-2 video series (excellent BTW), I realized that others are similarly challenged.

Then I found this discussion and mod, which seem to help quite a bit, well especially within 5 miles or so, and wonder what other folks are doing, or if they are even having an issue? I haven’t played around with the object size settings or screen resolution, which might be better options. Or, just live with it.

Thoughts?

1 Like

That is an interesting post (the discussion and mod post) that has some interesting observations. I learned a lot I didn’t know from that thread about how they are attempting to handle visibility issues…

Impostors work in such a way that once 3D model of an object reduces to certain pixel size, and it reaches max value in impostors.lua settings, at this point the 3D model switches to impostor effect and then reduces in size (up to min value in impostors.lua settings) and then stops reducing in size and just starts fading (increase opacity) until its no longer visible.