DCS: Mouse Control in VR

I’m pretty new to VR and DCS, but loving it so far. One thing I haven’t quite figured out is the best way to handle mouse clicks on buttons and switches in the cockpit. I have a small crosshair in the center of my view, and that works well for most things, except panels an the extreme left and right of me where I have switches that can be difficult to center my view on. Additionally, I don’t have actual mouse clicks mapped to my TM Warthog, so I still reach for the mouse to click.

I’m just curious what others around here have found to be the best means of interacting with the VR cockpit. If you have a Warthog,have you mapped the button presses? I’m reluctant to give up any of my current mappings, but maybe I’m missing a good option. I appreciate any help.

5 Likes

Hi @kodiak80… Welcome to Mudspike!!

There are various options. Mostly I just reach for the mouse. I find that I have no trouble placing my hand on it. For longer DCS sessions, I have a Logitech trackball, which I have attached to a cheap fabric belt using Velcro. I just strap it onto my right leg and it works very well.

I am considering getting on the waiting list for a set of MilesD’s Point Controllers. A bit pricey, but people who have them seem to like them a lot.

2 Likes

Hey @kodiak80 welcome to Mudspike!

@kodiak80 hey! Welcome to Mudspike! :mudspike:

Welcome to the madness. I’m just using that cross pointer and my mouse. I haven’t adapted to using “look and click” using a mapped button, although that would probably be the best for allowing to remain hands on the HOTAS.

Welcome to Mudspike!
I have only tried VR in DCS once, but I was pretty happy with just grabbing the hand controller, pointing the laser at a switch and clicking that way.
That being said: I am considering both clicking with the mouse and the look+click option once I have a VR headset myself.

I really struggled to do that. Especially changing frequency and things like that.

Mouse for me at the moment