DCS SU-25T: best weapon for attacking moving armor

I’m a combat flight sim pilot from WAY back (mostly the varieties of “Falcon”, but also “Tornado”, and smaller titles like “Wings Over Vietnam”), and recently built myself a new computer capable of running DCS World.

I’ve only got the free SU-25T right now, and I’ve spent about 6 hours getting familiar with it, running the tutorials, and creating some practice missions for myself. I can do pretty well with dumb bombs, and am getting better at guided missiles like the KH 29T for non-moving targets, but I cannot get the 29T to fire at a moving tank…maybe it’s not capable of that?
Anyway, what’s the best weapon for attacking enemy armor that’s moving?

Thanks.

1 Like

The best weapon for moving vehicles is Vikhr. Get the ShkVal on, lock it down and it’ll snap to the target. From that point, turn on laser and align the missile, fire and watch the vehicle explode. The Kh-25 and Kh-29 series missiles aren’t very good for this as they are large, lack agility, and have a pretty high climbing arc.

Alternatively, you can go Macross Missile Massacre and load up a ton of S-8 rockets and just saturate the area with them.

1 Like

Second the Vikhr, bear in minds it’s not a fire and forget missile. It’s laser guided much like a Hellfire, so don’t expect to ripple of a pack of them on an attack run neccessarily.

Also WELCOME!

Welcome to Mudspike!

And I agree with the other guys: Vikhr is the way to go.

Thanks guys. I guess I have to practice more with the Vikhr; I can get it to hit, but since I have to follow it in, by the time it hits, I’m basically in range of the enemy AA guns.

I’m not used to the limited weapons on the SU-25T; it seems like you’d have to make multiple passes to destroy more than one target. In Falcon, I was used to “one pass, haul ass” tactics. If I had Mavericks, I could usually get several hits on a single pass.

1 Like