Death of a 1080Ti

So I bought the Hind and thought I’d set up the PC to give it a whirl…I had my flight sim PC put away for a while with the new baby taking up all my time.

I tried to fire it up and got a continuous “beep beep beep beep” from the mobo. Uh oh.

I tried out starting up with my old GPU and it worked…so the issue was the 1080Ti. The only valuable part in the old computer, lol.

I just started looking for an explanation and I think I found the culprit.

That’s the AIO CPU cooler and next to it is evidence of cooling liquid that’s not inside the thingy. I’m no expert but I’m pretty sure I was never meant to see that liquid because it was supposed to stay inside the thingy.

And that’s downhill from the leak. I guess that would do the trick.

Would I be right in assuming that GPU is now almost certainly only worth its weight in copper cooling pipes?

1 Like

Rest in peace to that old awesome card :frowning: You could try checking your coolermaster warranty. Some of those cooler manufacturers warranty extends so far that they will replace components damaged by their leaking fluids (on the provision of absence of abuse/mishandling etc.) It was the reason I went with Corsair. If the leak was still fresh (maybe it happened when you moved it) you could try to put it somewhere warm (maybe put something that absorbs water over it, like rice). and hope that the liquid will evaporate. But if the thing has properly shorted already I’m afraid its value has been reduced to just its rare metals.

1 Like

I have decided that I am going to get into the hardware business. My first product will be the Badonkadonk Motherboard Sump-Pump (with optional float alarm - 85db!)…

water drinking GIF

3 Likes

Could it be condensation from the cooler block…?

It has a colour and feel on my finger of something else than just water, so it seems likely it is from inside the block.

Anyway, I think I’ll be reading your “building a new PC” thread closely! :joy:

1 Like