DIY Hotas FA-18C Hornet Stick and Throttle

Hi, I’ve been working on my DIY Hotas for a couple months now, I ordered some parts, but now I’m trying to get an Aliexpress order done so I can finish the project.

I am using TLE5010 sensors for the Axes on the stick and throttle, and SS49E hall effect sensors for the rudder pedals. Planning to use MMJoy2 for the AtMega32u4 pro micro’s I have.

The PCB’s I’m using for the TLE5010 Sensors are a shared PCB from rel4y on oshpark, the version C. I drew up a diagram in MS Paint to to get some Feedback. The I2C board is using a MCP23017 chip. The design for the 3d printed Hat Switches is something I found on this forum, I am using 3 of those, one of them serving as an 8 way switch that works by hitting two buttons at once. Possibly figuring out a way to add a push feature to two of the hat switches.

The biggest headache I’ve had is figuring out the wiring for everything. This is my first electronics project like this and I’ve had trouble sifting through information trying to figure out exact how to get it all to come together so any help would be super welcome.

7 Likes

Hello and welcome to the forums. That’s quite an ambitious first project you got there.

Just looking at the diagram I can already spot some problems. I am not sure this is because you simplified it but the way you wired up the keyboard switches, micro switches for the 3D printed hat switches and the triggers into the MCP23017 won’t work. They need to be wired in parallel to individual inputs of the I2C converter.

It’s late here and I can take a more detailed look at it tomorrow. But that whole wiring into the I2C board won’t work this way.

2 Likes