Graphics profile switcher for DCS World

Being a VR flyer, one of the things I find a bit of a pain is having to adjust all the settings in DCS World when I want to watch a track and take some nice screenshots…
It just doesn’t look this good if you just keep your finely tuned VR settings…

I know @SkateZilla is working on creating profiles for his excellent app, but I thought I would try my hand at writing a quick and dirty program to hold us over in the meantime. It lets you save a copy of the options.lua file to one of three different folders. You can then jump between versions of the options.lua by ALT+TABbing to the app and choosing your desired profile. You don’t have to close DCS World down when you make the switch, but you must be in the menus and out of the Settings tab as it reads the options.lua file.

If you think you would find it useful and are feeling brave (I’m a pilot, not a programmer), then feel free to give it a try.

You can download the file from here:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1OM2BWtg2yTEeullXg0i9SrMe0cTzEzIE

8 Likes

Well, no sooner than I posted this up I found a small bug, where the Normal button didn’t work properly. It is now fixed and the new version is uploaded (v0.2). Sorry about that. I should have tested it a lot more I guess.

This will be useful to me too. Will try it as soon as time allows. Thanks

I just updated it with some small cosmetic changes, and titled the app “Profiles for DCSW”

I was using it last night and found it quite useful. Has anyone tried it yet? I am curious if it is working ok on other PC’s.

1 Like

Cheers @PaulRix. So, you use this from the main menu screen? Is it graphic settings only or other settings?

Dan, you should be able to use it successfully while in any of the DCS menus except the settings tab and while in the 3D environment. Using it within he 3D environment shouldn’t cause any problems but the changes won’t take effect until you quit the flight and then fly again.