Hardware question (4K TV as Monitor?)

Howdy, Y’all!

question - anyone using a 4K HD tv in lieu of a computer monitor? after spending all my money becoming a model collector (see past posts concerning) I have been kicking around the idea of changing out my 34 ’ 2K LG and the 2 24’ HP side monitors for a single curved setup - I’ve been looking around on the web (CNET, Reddit, etc) to see what the prevailing opinions are - and well, they’re all over the damn place! -
so question is 'anyone using a TV as your primary monitor? and if so - what brand and model -
what are the pitfalls? any suggestions are welcome!

Cheers!

Karma!

I remember a heated discussion over at the ED forums.
A few members claimed it was impossible while someone else called them liars, claiming he was doing exactly that and having fun. Then they claimed he was the liar and then the thread disappeared… :smiley:

Got a LG 4k that I’ve been using for 2 years. Love it for 2d games. Flight sims in VR only for me nowadays.
Look out for low ms response time and high hz (<60). Not fake 240hz…which will increase ms.

I used to fly on my 50”TV (1080p).

Can be a pain to read typical desktop/office text from that distance, especially with imperfect vision.

Watch out for the TV pictures modes which go through a signal processor, ie “cinema mode” or “sports mode” that adjust brightness/contrast/etc which adds ms to display delay.

Some TV’s have a dedicated “game” mode that bypasses that system, but the picture quality is slightly inferior as a result - just make adjustments from the PC or game itself instead.

You would also need a desk setup where the desk sits between you and the TV, to hold controls keyboard and mouse.

I use 43" 4k LG UH603V. Panel is 100Hz ( iirc ). My previous monitor was 40" FHD Samsung TV 60Hz. And monitor before that was 19" Philips 4:3 :slight_smile: