Hunters over the Yalu from a non campaign guy NO SPOILERS

Hey Guys,
So I am ashamed to say that I buy the campaigns but never fly them. The usual excuses, I’m to tired, takes too long, blah, blah, blah. As you know, I have had a bit of time off due to my appendix deciding to put life on hold. So with a week left before I went back to work I shuffled through my campaigns and decided on Hunters. Typical of me, I sat in the Sabre and realized I did not remember how to start it, fly it, communicate or shoot anything. So it was back to basics. In an hour of Youtube and Chuck Owl instruction I was back in the pit.
Reflected did an outstanding job. I am no expert in campaigns but his approach works for me. The first few missions are basic ground attacks. NO SPOILERS. It just gets better. The campaign is written in a way that allows you to grow in the areas of leading, flying, navigating and combat. I have done 9 missions and I am having a GREAT TIME. I did not get shot down yet… but I have come home with my tail securely tucked. Once it was so bad, I nearly did not make it. I choose to fly that one over again…LOL. 2.7 clouds make this a beautiful experience in VR. Climbing to 30k through layers of dark, ominous clouds while holding your breath is thrilling. Flying on instruments to keep yourself from getting lost… Eyes on fuel, oxygen, speed… Its really a great adventure. I think I am converted to campaigns.
If you have flown HOY, what do you think? If you have not, have a go. It is a lot of fun.

Maico

15 Likes

I might just have to refly this now you mentioned flying a sabre with 2.7 clouds! I like Reflected his work as well. I did HOY straight after Blue-Nosed Bastards. It continues from there, with the same player pilot and some other returning characters. Coming from the mustang, it made me realise how much a marvel for its time the Sabre was.

2 Likes