IL-2 Cliffs of Dover/ Battle of Tobruk Screens

Since we don’t have a category yet for this one. A few loose shots as I’m (re)learning how to aim. Story to follow later (remember that literary and historical rabbit hole I mentioned I’d fallen down?).

10 Likes

The AI really makes you work, doesn’t it? As one vlogger stated, no gifts in this sim. I know that I never RTB with ammo.

1 Like

You’re assuming I’m returning to base- that AI gunnery is also brutal, and thus far my ratio of landings to takeoffs is a good bit less than one.

1 Like

I’m still berating myself for not getting to spend time with this yet. I have maybe 30 mins in on release day and none since. Grrrr…

1 Like

I actually think that in some configurations, like Spit .303 v Bf109E that there is something wrong with the hit box. And I’ve been flying WW2 sims for 20 years and know all about the peashooter vs armored 109s. But I think that it’s a bit pessimistic in CoD. For instance, in the Allied advantage quick mission I can saddle up to a 109 in a Spit and blast away my whole loadout with very little effect. It doesn’t matter where you hit them and/or what your convergence is. The same scenario in DCS or IL2 GB and you would get pieces of control surfaces, fuel, and radiator, etc.

Edit: Not sure what’s going on. Just flew the same mission and smoked 2 x 109s immediately. It’s like there was a graphic glitch in the above mission. Hard to say. Same mission, position, and completely different results. I need a cup of tea.

1 Like

Not sure if I’m getting worse, or the AI pilots are getting better (a distinct possibility). Either way, the campaign is absolutely recreating the feeling of hopelessness and desperation that I’m sure the remaining Armee de l’Air pilots must’ve felt as the Germans closed in on all sides.

I had time to get a single burst on a distant Bf-109 before his wingman knocked out my engine.