Introducing the F-15X: Would the Air Force Buy a Non 'Stealth' Fighter?

I really hope and pray this actually happens…what a beast that would be.

Imagining f22 raptors out in front designating targets and these monsters carrying armfuls of long range missiles in the rear.
I know they toyed with the similar idea for the b52 and b1 but this looks more likely to happen. Love the concept

3 Likes

LOL - cant really see it personally however it might be the one thing of even worse value than an RTX card :wink:

The only thing getting it up the rear with this concept and deal will be the US taxpayer.

I’m no expert on these things but if the f15c/d fleet needs replacement would this not be a cost effective and EFFECTIVE alternative to the stealth aircraft?
Maybe someone with more knowledge than me could explain it to me as to the layman it looks like a great way to get tons more missiles in the air and without spending 170m dollars per aircraft

1 Like

To me it seems like great deal too. But why only so few? Don’t they need like 200?

And why haven’t they bought three squadrons of A-X yet?

1 Like

I’m glad you mentioned that I was wondering the same. I know they carry more and the force multiplication effects of fewer aircraft carrying more but the numbers don’t add up to me…

Current F-35A unit cost is under $90m - it has economies of scale on its side so is cheaper to buy and very likely operate over a tiny number of current production F-15s and more importantly far more capable.

Boeing would have to probably take a massive loss on selling these if they tried to make the unit cost cheaper at least. But what are you left with? a second tier fighter that has to play some ludicrous concept of missile truck to the real fighters (F-35/22) while at the same time being a massive target and liability.