Landing Challenge U81 - C53 - 2000lbs of cargo

I picked up the twin otter yesterday and was doing some bush flying. I randomly picked a mountain strip in Idaho (U81*, and a reasonably close by strip to land at (C53). Loaded up the twotter to 50% fuel and 100% cargo, and off I went. Then it got interesting, interesting enough I’ve spent a couple of hours seeing what all aircraft I can get into C53 with a ton of cargo and 50% fuel.

So far I’ve managed to get the PC-6 and the twin otter in. My attempts with the Islander have failed, but I’ve gotten close. It’s a pretty quick trip maybe 30 mins depending on how aggressive you want to be with the throttle. Plenty of cloud rocks, box canyons etc.

U81 - Cold Meadows USFS Airport | SkyVector and one of my favorite cautions - * RODENT ACTIVITY ON AND INVOF ARPT.

C53 - Lower Loon Creek Airport | SkyVector

As I am a barely competent STOL pilot (if that) I’m curious what all everyone is able to land.

2 Likes

Man do you ever have to know how to find that lol

I got the Islander down and stopped. It wasn’t a pretty landing, and the stall horn was giving me grief but I made it. Not something I would be comfortable with IRL though.

Low, slow and pretty much committed.

Stopped!

4 Likes

I could tell it was at the Y in the river, but I circled quite a bit before I was sure on what exactly the runway was.

Nice! I decided to give the Islander a break after flying into a box canyon for the second time in a row. I was pretty sure it was doable, and I am not surprised it was dicey.

1 Like

Just to prove it wasn’t a fluke, I flew it again…

I also tried the King Air 350i . It used a bit more runway, but I was able to get it stopped.
The title of the video is “Don’t Sink” :smile:

7 Likes

Nice, you greased the islander in on that one. If I can avoid making a left when I need to make a right on the approach down the river (into a box canyon, that the islander isn’t making it out of) I think I can make that work.