Large screen curved Monitor

Looking to maybe get a large screen curved monitor (around 42" or larger). Don’t really know who makes a good one and what are the good ones (or the ones to stay away from)
Any help and suggestion would be great

Yeah… I know someone will say go VR… but I am not really in that space right now.

I am no expert but have a vague idea of what’s out there so let’s try to narrow it down.

What else do you want from the screen, besides the size and the curved panel?

I assume 4K and at least 60Hz is a requirement.

Framerates

What kind of framerates will your computer render at the desired resolution?

→ Do you want the screen to support higher framerates than 60 fps?
→ Do you want it to support variable refresh rates, so the image stays smooth as your computer’s rendered refresh rate drops below 60 Hz?
→ if yes, does it need to be Nvidia compatible? Then you are looking for a G-Sync screen. Otherwise just the open DisplayPort FreeSync standard will work fine with AMD.

Colors

No idea of most panel’s developments since IPS became the norm in this area. I do know that OLED is the only way to get perfectly black black.
But it is also very expensive. If you don’t have a strong opinion, check reviews and go for a non-OLED IPS panel.

What is more important for you? Colors or high / variable low refresh rates?

2 Likes

I was eyeing a curved 34 inch OLED but held off, mainly because I was concerned about loosing the vertical space of my current 32 inch.

Then I saw this yesterday

https://deals.dell.com/en-us/productdetail/fkrb

and it accidentally/on purpose ended up in my cart, and now it is somehow making it’s way to my house. It’s not 42, but I can report back if you’d like (whenever I figure out how to rearrange my desk to fit it!)

(edit since the preview isn’t working, it’s the “Alienware 38 Curved Gaming Monitor - AW3821DW”. Vertical seems to be close to what I have, and it has a pretty nice discount of 250 off)

1 Like