Noob on documentation

Hi All

I’m a noob again at flight sims. I used to fly them all the time, 20 years ago. But as happens real life got in the way and I got away from it. Now that I’m retired I’m getting back into it and have a question on Falcon BMS 4.33.

I have the original Microprose Falcon 4.0 (Off eBay) and have BMS 4.33 installed and working. Here’s the question.

Is the documentation for 4.0 pretty much the same as far as keystrokes for radar/wepons select/gear/flaps/ etc etc.? I have the big binder that came with 4.0, which would save me downloading and printing out the 4.33 documentation.

I have a lot to learn, this thing (and most like DCS) are a lot more involved that the old stuff I used to fly. I gotta bone up.

1 Like

A lot has changed. Some of the weapons in BMS right now didn’t even exist when falcon 4 was released. If BMS is your goal it’s best to start learning it straight away instead of doing F4 first and then switching over to BMS. When you startup BMS there’s an option to acces documentation and manuals 2 options below actually launching the game. When you’re there you want to navigate to Falcon BMS manuals, and then read the BMS1F-16CM-1 manual ( this is the general manual, startup, shutdown, flying the thing etc ) and the BMS1F-16CM-34-1-1 manual ( Avionics and Weapons employment manual ). It’s about 450 pages total.

Here’s a video that’ll hopefully help. I used it when I first started. It’ll help you start her up and do some basic things like shooting down other planes and some bombing iirc.

1 Like

Welcome to Mudspike @wbmillerkc!

As @Sryan said above, there are some new things to look out for.

For keyboard maps and getting used to the new layout, there is a nice (but fairly complicated) way to get a print-out of your keyboard/devices set-up. You need Excel to use it:

(a). Open up the Excel file from your Falcon BMS install here:

\Falcon BMS 4.33\Docs\Key Files & Input\BMS Key File Editor.xls