ROP or LOP?

Hey y’all!

Judging by some videos and statements by pilots that I read this may be bordering on a religious discussion, so please be nice. Remember we are all friends here!

Ok, so here we go. This is both about flight sims and real life so GoGo real pilots!

As the title suggests this topic is about leaning. No, not you, the plane. The mixture of piston engine planes to be precise.
As y’all know I am not a real pilot so I never had to worry about fouled spark plugs or overheated cylinders.
I do know the basics of leaning and how it relates to power (based on density altitude and so on) but lately I remembered that I don’t really know how to properly do it, especially in a variable pitch propeller plane. I do it by ear in most planes.
So I looked up the topic, and while I did learn some things I also got a tad confused.

In short: Lean of peak (LOP) or rich of peak (ROP), and why and when?

I go by what the POH says, but I’m just a sometimes recreational pilot. IME it’s going to be ROP, since you are usually starting rich and then lean toward a peak temp. Or failing that, just lean until you get the most rpm while keeping the CHT in the green.

2 Likes

So… are there tables in the book about which setting to use at which (density) altitudes, in cruise and while climbing? Sounds like a lot of paper unless they manage to put that down somewhat concisely.
Or is it some kind of formula?

Not sure about the big boys, but it’s not that complicated. In my revised post above, you are adjusting mixture to get the most power without getting the temps too high.

The lawyer is gonna say operate according to the POH.

My first planes had no EGT or CHT gauges…so I was taught to lean until roughness, then one or two turns on the vernier toward rich. It was a real science :rofl:

2 Likes

My procedure for fixed props is: check RPM and sound. Pull the lever until it goes down, then push it in a tiny bit.