Sugarless

I’m quietly going nuts this week.

I’ve been dieting on and off for a few years - managed to lose a few kg in the process (I know people further west and even here use lb but as I matured in mainland Europe I got use to kg and never kept track of conversions). I used to be skinny as a rake, but when my mobility dumped me, after running 15km every night and regularly doing marathons and half marathons going to not even having any leg muscles (something that hit me extremely hard at the time) I started piling on the weight.

Started at 65kg/143 lb (6ft/1.8m height) in the mid 90’s and got all the way up to 114kg/251 lb 5 years ago. Now I’ve got it down to 105kg/231 lb and I keep seeing people making seemingly absurd claims about weight loss. Normally I just eat a lot less, but that alone isn’t a guarantee of trimming those extra flabby bits.

Twice I’ve seen “doctors” (who knows if they really are) on the internet claiming that if you give up sugar you can lose 1kg a week!

Although I still have 1 sugar in my cups of tea, I dropped everything else a week ago - and guess what? Today, 1kg less! So I’ll try and keep it up - but it’s soooo hard. I get some really nasty problems - shakes, sweats, feeling of lack of energy etc - but I’m determined to keep it up for at least another few weeks to see what happens.

In the old days if I thought I was putting a bit of a flab on, I’d just go for a run for a few days (before I got into distance running) but now I can’t even run across the road.

So, anyone else? Want to see what we can lose this year?

3 Likes

Refined sugar is a helluva drug. It is positively addictive. You are going through withdrawals.