Trackball

Hey chaps (and chappettes)!

Due to recently mentioned increasing difficulties using a standard mouse, after a brief flirtation with vertical types, I decided to try a trackball. I bought a decent Kensington Orbit Fusion, and it does seem like a great bit of kit and fits my large hand very nicely, as well as having sufficient programmable buttons to satisfy my gaming needs.

I got on quite well with it on the desktop and in various programs like word processors, but haven’t tried it with graphics or painting progs as yet.

I decided to start using it for 7 Days To Die, as I’ve been playing that a lot (over 3,500 hours) for many years, so well used to how everything works and how I want my control to be (progammed buttons etc).
So I thought it would be ideal for seeing how I’d get on and getting used to it.

However, after two days I gave up and though I didn’t return the trackball, I’ve put it away to leave for when I just can’t use a mouse any more - so then I will have no choice but to use it or switch to VR for everything I do on PC.

I gave up because even after much tweaking of cursor sensitivity etc, it made me feel sick after a bit. That has a lot to do with my brain expecting my view to move one way, but my actual view moving somewhere else. I did try switching the vertical axis but this had little effect.

Does anyone else use one and if so, do you have any tips to help make the transition less of a challenge?

Have you considered using TrackIR as a mouse? I gave mine away, but maybe other TIR users can verify that this is still an option in the software.
TrackIR actually started out as a head tracking mouse controller.
I think the Tobii eyetracker has a mouse emulation option too.

I gave away my Tobii Eye Tracker when I sold my Warthog HOTAS, but still have TrackIR 4. I think that would be well weird for games (like FPS), but I’ll have a think about it. :+1:

1 Like