Will my old Computer Handle VR

Hey guys,

While I used to be horrified with anything less than a cutting edge computer, Real Life™ dialed back my simming in the last couple of years and my trusty rig is showing a little age.

What surprises me from my youth is that games like IL-2 and DCS are still playable on pretty high slider levels whereas my Pentium 486 was already obsolete by the time I brought it home in ‘92. This gives me some hope that my rig has aged more gracefully than it might once have done.

I have been hearing the call of VR for a few years now, but my tech savvy has long since diminished (and I never had any VR savvy!). Which brings me to my question.

Based on my my specs, would VR even be an option for my current rig and if so, which one? The G2 sounds pretty tempting, I must admit.

This is from the Valve VR test. I was fairly shocked when I ran it that it didn’t just laugh at me and give me the finger.

Thanks in advance for any input! My esteem for the level of your knowledge is directly related to how little of it I understood when trying to read through the VR posts on this forum…so, quite high actually. :joy:

1 Like

Deacon my man, that rig oughta handle VR joos’ fine sir! Depends of course what you throw at it, but Il-2 BoX (flying circus!), DCS when tuned right and xplane11 should be quite doable. My rig is quite a bit lighter than yours yet manages to (barely) push out enough frames to make it work.

1 Like

Hey schurem,

Thanks for that! May I ask what it is that you are currently sporting?

If I understand correctly, the Reverb is presently king of the resolution. And with the G2 coming down the line, it’s tempting to wait for the “new hotness”.

But now, being relieved to know that I can run anything at all, I’m guessing that there is no sense getting a Ferrari chassis when all I can put in it is a lawn mower engine.

In other words, perhaps currently technology might be a wiser choice than next gen?