WWIIOL: Battleground Europe

I am currious what others think of WW2 Online. Its been around for many years and seems to enjoy a loyal following. My guess as to why it rarely rates a mention here or at other sim oriented forums is that it isn’t a sim. But then neither is ARMA or War Thunder or Elite Dangerous. I tried it a few years ago and couldn’t really get into it. So I am very much a part of the silence that I am questioning with this thread. The reason I mention it now is that it is about to move to Steam.

I really like the idea of a persistant battlefield for the same reasons that I like truly dynamic campaigns. I like to feel part of something bigger. Does that mean I will give it another go? Meh, probably not.

Never heard of it

I can post something later but I played WWIIOnline from it’s birth for a long time.

the TLDR: Change is slow. Very slow. The air component is an add-on that gets zero love from the developers and I’m a virtual pilot :slight_smile:

I tried it. I really didn’t like the subscription thing.
I can get over the suboptimal graphics, because I played it with my two brothers and it was beyond engaging.

Now though? Nope.
I have a lot of massive* online games that I pick up now and then for a quick spin. Nominally War Thunder, Mechwarrior Online etc.

I simply can’t find enough interest to occupy some of my HD with it.

*not massively online… simply really really big in terms of gameplay.

1 Like

Ya looked at website and not interested in the subscription thing.

I have a little time in WW2OL, but it was a long long time ago…