Flying the Boeing 777 In X-Plane---AAR

The Boeing 777, one engine can power a 747 to cruise. Nothing but one word can describe this beast, AMAZING.

The FlightFactor Boeing 777 was my first payware purchase for X-plane. It is an officially licensed Boeing product and is avalible from the X-plane.org store at the following link: Boeing 777

The following is a screenshot of the description in the org store.

So why the 777? Simple, its big and modern! I have been flying flight sims of some sort since 2000. However it wasn’t until a few years ago that I got interested in big jets. I started flying the default 737 in FSX and really got hooked. Once I picked up X-Plane 10 from Steam I wanted a study jet. The 777 was the perfect beast for me to learn.

So lets get this AAR started. First up the planning phase. We will be flying From KJFK to CYYZ as Delta Flight 215. So first stop is flightaware.com. I find the following route that has been flown over the last month. The route is Gayel Q818 wohzee linng5. That gives me a good idea of the route I am taking. I will have to change a few waypoints but that is just because my data isnt up to date. Ok next up I got to simbrief.com. I only use this site to get runway info. If I put in my departure and arrival airports simbrief kicks out a take off and landing runway. In this case I get 22R out of JFK and Ill be landing 05 in YYZ.

I only care about arrival runway since ATC will give me my departure runway. The ATC in X plane is lacking so I normally cancel my flight plan once airborne.

Next I go to fuelplanner.com. Here is where I get my fuel and fuel cost index. The 777 is in metric in X plane so I need my fuel in KGs. Once I input my departure and arrival I can get my fuel loadout. For this flight it will be 18256 KG with 9485 KG as reserve.

And then I quick glance at the cost index and it will be 102.