Help me hash out a desktop simpit please

As the title suggests I am pondering a desktop simpit. I am very new to this and feel it would be prudent to bounce my ideas off the more experienced folks here.

What I have at the moment is a Warthog throttle, VKB Evo stick, pair of Cougar MFDs and some DIY rudder pedals that I am still tinkering with.

My idea is build one central panel with an old laptop screen for the cougars and a tablet that has DCS UFC and a few physical buttons and rotary encoders. To the left and right of central panel will be side panel button boxes each with a tablet again running DCS UFC.

First question is will there be a conflict between DCS UFC and DCS BIOS? ( is there a better program to export the MFDs)

Second question is can I used physical buttons and encoders to control certain functions on DCS UFC tablets? Like instead of tapping the touch screen I can use real encoder instead.

Third question is an open one. Where or what issues am I not considering. What path do I need to avoid from the start?

Any and all advice is most appreciated.

2 Likes

Hey PatMat. Welcome to the deep rabbit hole that is building your own simpit :slight_smile:

I can’t answer the first question as I don’t currently use DCS UFC or DCS BIOS.

For the second question, for the controller/button-box that I built, it acts like any other DirectX Input device and I assign the buttons on it in DCS directly - it acts like a joystick. So any setup that you do like that doesn’t need DCS UFC or DCS BIOS - but I also don’t know if it can benefit from those two projects as I don’t know much about them.

The third question is the tough one really. I am on my 5th generation simpit. I started with an ABC thing (not sure I can dig a link up to that but it was (spelling mistakes all mine)), an Aker/Barnes Cockpit made up of plywood panels. From that I worked through various office/desk chair designs and finally my current VW Jetta drivers seat.