Shopping for a new PC... and I’m kind of lost.

Merry Christmas All!

I’m now officially in the market for a new gaming rig. My ASUS G20 from 2016 has served me well, but I am now looking to step up to a better PC with a decent sized case to allow for upgrades and lots of cooling.

I used to be a bit of a tech guru, but that was a long time ago (like 20 years!). My last gaming rig, I just bought the best available “Oculus Ready” bundle, which was an ASUS G20. It has been surprisingly good, and I have been happy with it, but you can’t do much in the way of upgrades. I did change out the graphics card (now a GTX1080) and added a 1TB SSD… but that’s about all I can do.

So, I am looking for input on a new rig. It has to be pre-built - the last time I built my own PC (yes, 20 years ago), it wasn’t exactly the most stable machine.

Looking online, I see you can spend a small fortune on a gaming rig these days. I certainly don’t want to spend $4K-5K, but seeing as I am looking to keep my next rig for awhile, I am good with a ballpark of $3K.

What do you guys think I should be looking at? A couple of systems I have found online are:

The CyberPower 8800 Pro SE

The Cyber Power Black Pearl

These systems can be tailored,

Is the RTX2080 Ti worth the expense over the 2080 Ti?
Is 32 Gb or RAM worth getting over 16Gb (I’m guessing yes).
Intel i9 vs i7… there are so many variations of Intel CPU’s available these days. My current system has a i7 6700.
Is there something huge just around the corner that is worth waiting for rather than jump in now (I know there is never really a good time to buy tech).

Any insight and advice would be very much appreciated.

1 Like

RTX 2080 v RTX 2080ti look like poor value compared to what went before IMO - would suggest the 2080ti or 1080ti for DCS for the extra VRAM.