The VR experience

I have been flightsimming in VR since 2016 and the Oculus Rift.
I remember having some very real physical reactions when flying in VR. Crashing into the ground suddenly became a rather unpleasant affair that caused my heart rate to increase. Not much, but noticeable. There were other instances where I noticed signs of adrenalin, that I hadn’t experienced when flying on a monitor.
These new sensations faded and my mind took control over matter and decided that VR flying probably wouldn’t kill me, after all.

Technology doing what technology does, moves along at an incredible pace.
Five (5!) years later I now have a high res Reverb G2 VR headset and a monster of a PC to run my favourite flightsims.

I finally decided to start on the Epsom Campaign for the DCS Spitfire, by @wagmatt and @bunyap2w1. I have waited with this campaign because I wanted DCS, The Spitfire and the Normandy map to mature past the early bugs and I wanted a better PC to enjoy this campaign properly…
I flew the first mission and got really immersed by the briefing, radio chatter and the incredibly living environment. I don’t think I have quite grasped how to use the Spitfire radio with real comms, so I failed to give my flight the command to RTB, after we had toured the French countryside. Anyway, there I was, on short final with my wingman tucked in beside me, gear down and everything, when good ol’ no.2 decides to go around…!
With a WROOAAR of his RR Merlin he cut across my path so unexpectedly and close, that I screamed out loud in fear…! Real fear. Ok, maybe not real fear of dying, but scared enough that my heart started pounding and my hands and brow started sweating. The reaction startled me for a second, and then I started laughing at myself, glad that nobody was around to see it.
You can get immersed by a good flightsim and a well made mission. Add VR to the mix and you have the recipe for the best virtual experience I have ever enjoyed.

18 Likes